Dream of Liquefaction and the Yearly Elephant Ritual that Dominated Roger

There was a process of liquefaction. But there were rules. It wasn’t for me. Also visiting George’s place, which transitioned to Emily’s parents, Roger and Maria, and Iain. I was playing with the kid when Kathy, George’s wife, said I have to behave more like an adult I’m too much like a kid they exploit me. Then an elephant came from across the road. It dominated Roger. The elephant walked through the front door to collect another elephant. Together the elephants walked to the backyard to the rockpool water feature. Iain was required now. Every year the elephant walked this route as a ritual. The elephant required the same person for each step in the ritual. But they had a problem. The elephant had selected a relative from New Zealand for the water feature step but he had been here only once for the wedding and had never returned.

This was the only dream I managed to capture while in Melbourne helping dad. I wrote down a morning reflection on the dream. I was clutching at straws associating teenage memories like footpath rules from the time I spent one month in Melbourne. I had no explanation for the dominant image of the dream, Roger and the Elephant. I resorted to cliché. Elephants carry water up their snouts making them repositories of unconscious content. Then there’s Ganesh the clearer of obstacles (July 2022). The elephants did that in the dream. They cleared a path towards a deeper ritualised truth.

But all this is dream dictionary thinking.

An elephant is an elephant is an elephant is an elephant.

LOOK at the dream.

What does it the image say?

It speaks clear,

Behold

THE ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM!

The elephant in the room was dominating Roger. Roger had a heart attack in 2021 during one of the countless covid lockdowns.

Segue to dad in Melbourne. He was getting tired after minimal exertion. I put it down to age. Exactly one month after I had this dream dad had a major heart attack first thing in the morning. He’s lucky to be alive for the second time now (November 2018).

Did my unconscious see the heart attack coming?

Am I retrospectively assigning meaning to random dream imagery?

Or is it a little bit of both?

I don’t know.

Elephants are symbolically associated with transitions. This speaks to liquefaction the dissolving of something old into something new. A c-c-change is coming. The status quo cannot continue. I need to grow up. I remember Jung saying a man does not grow up until he loses his father. Sometimes I feel like I am exploited by the system caring for the aged (February 2023). I have too much on my plate. No one to help me. I do the best I can.

But I get really tired sometimes.

I need a break.

My ritual now involves taking dad to the hospital twice per week. I’m getting to know the ins and outs of the Prince of Wales Hospital. I’m even getting the odd staff discount. That’s a bad sign. I’m there so often the cashiers think I work there.

I need a better ritual.

Like for instance my morning dreamtime ritual.

That’s been shredded.

Like everything else.

There’s too much on my plate.

Too much.

Leave a comment